top of page

Tuition fees

Tuition fee for nationals of an European Union (EU) country *: 4.500 € / year

Tuition fee for nationals of a Non-European country: 9.000 € / year


Tuitions are paid each year according to the rules of the University of Coimbra as follows:

  • 30% of the fee is paid upon registration - mandatory for Non-European Students

  • The remaining 70% is paid monthly between November and March


Important note: Students that do not comply with the rules above are excluded from the Field Course in Tropical Ecosystems.

Tuitions are paid to the University of Coimbra and cover (i) the registration fees in all the universities of the consortium where students will develop their IMAE programme, (ii) insurance costs; (iii) all travel, and logistic costs associated to the field trips

Tuitions will not include (i) housing in the different countries, (ii) travel between countries (when moving between semesters or to the Welcome Ceremony).

* European Union countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden.

In this group are also included nationals from other countries but having an European country as double nationality.

​Places where you can find funding

- International Student Scholarships by the University of Coimbra: Financial support
- International Center at Kiel University: Financial assistance

- UEA Study with us: Scholarship Finder

- Santander | Scholarships:  Find your scholarship

bottom of page